Best of both worlds

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Washington is a city that abounds with parks, open spaces, and bike trails. You don’t even have to go outside the city to find something close to wilderness. Within sight of the Washington Monument is Roosevelt Island in the Potomac, with 88 acres of hiking trails. And from the balcony of my apartment in Alexandria, VA., I can watch ducks and geese on the stream and see people walking along the footpath in a quite extensive park. I feel as if I am in the middle of the countryside, yet I’m a matter of yards off a busy thoroughfare.

4 Responses to Best of both worlds

  1. Pierre says:

    Hi passante! Beautiful pic, so green… Spring is such a great season! Is this really the view from your window?

  2. Passante says:

    Thanks, Pierre. Yes, that’s what I can see from my balcony, living room, and study. It is also very beautiful in the autumn, as I will show you in a few months.

  3. Elisabeth says:

    That’s one thing I like about D.C., it is really airy and green. And, of course, it’s absolutely gorgeous at this time of the year.

  4. […] The leaves haven’t started to turn yet in the Washington area (or at least, the ones I see from my balcony haven’t), but these hand-made bags on sale at the Alexandria market, give a foretaste of Fall colors. […]

