Swan Bench

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Footsore tourists can rest on this elegant swan bench in the Victorian garden surrounding the Smithsonian Castle. The Castle, completed in 1855, was the Smithsonian’s first building. It now houses administrative offices and the Visitor Center. Today, the Smithsonian has 18 museums, including two in New York. The Washington museums are open every day of the year except Dec. 25, and there is no admission charge.

3 Responses to Swan Bench

  1. Elisabeth says:

    Hey, I have never noticed those! I will keep my eyes wide open next time I’m am in that vicinity.

  2. Pierre says:

    Delicate bench… And how beautiful the smithonian museums are! I had been very impressed by the Science and Technology museum, but today, I think that the American History Museum, where I’ve never been, would attract me even more…

  3. Felicia says:

    What a beautiful bench! Isn’t it amazing that these museums are free, whereas some charge upwards of $20?!

