Honeysuckle

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
I know a bank whereon the wild thyme blows,
Where oxlips and the nodding violet grows,
Quite overcanopied with luscious woodbine,
With sweet musk-roses, and with eglantine:
There sleeps Titania sometime of the night,
Lulled in these flowers with dances and delight.

Midsummer Night’s Dream
Eglantine is the poetic name for both briar rose and honeysuckle. The latter is in bloom now in the Washington area, where it’s classified as an invasive, undesirable weed. This I choose to forget when I walk by a hedgerow and breathe its delicately intoxicating perfume.

3 Responses to Honeysuckle

  1. Louz says:

    This made me smile. I grew up in Maryland and we had honeysuckle growing on our backyard fence. I love the scent.

  2. bob says:

    Lovely shot

  3. Dan says:

    We had a honeysuckle bush near my house when I was a kid… I loved it, and the scent is still one of my favorites!

