U.S. Capitol

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Building began on the United States Capitol (take a virtual tour here) in 1793, and over the years, the building grew to accommodate the expanding country and its government. The Capitol complex now consists of the Capitol building with its famous rotunda where presidents and other important people lie in state before their funerals; the House and Senate office buildings; the Library of Congress; the Supreme Court; the U.S. Botannic Gardens;, and the Capitol Power Plant.

The Capitol is open for guided tours every day except Sunday. It’s also closed on the Thanksgiving and Christmas Day holidays. Tickets are free, and a limited number are available from 9 AM at a kiosk in the grounds. However, most visitors have obtained tickets ahead through their state representatives, so few are left for those who simply show up.

7 Responses to U.S. Capitol

  1. Elisabeth says:

    I have taken the tour of the Capitol only once, I think it was the first time my parents had come to the U.S. It was a worthwhile tour at the time.

  2. Anne says:

    Great shot! That place looks soo big!

  3. bob says:

    Nice shot. Funny, I’ve seen that somewhere before.

  4. Monique says:

    Not only a good photo, but helpful information too. I didn’t know about the botanic gardens, and next time I go to D.C. I’ll have to sweet talk my state rep for some tickets. . .

  5. Carlos says:

    One of the most famous buildings in the world in a nice picture along with a very helpful comment, thanks Passante

  6. Seesaw says:

    Beautiful shot!

  7. alice says:

    For me, this IS Washington DC…

