Almost tropical

july18_elephant-ears.jpg

Elephant ears (colocasias) grow well in Washington. Here they lend a tropical atmosphere to a local park.

5 Responses to Almost tropical

  1. anne says:

    Beautiful plants! We have that here too…though I don’t know what it’s called here 🙂

  2. alice says:

    This name is a good one in my opinion! I have a plant called “elephant foot” in my house. The question is: where is the body?

  3. Louise says:

    These look like taro leaves. Are they related? (Taro is a root vegetable, grows in swampy areas especially in places like Samoa)

  4. Marie McC says:

    I love elephant ears! When I lived in Togo, West Africa, one of my Togolese friends brought me some and I planted them near my house. They got enormous almost immediately.

  5. Elisabeth says:

    The only kind of elephant ears I knew before reading this post where the kind you eat (it’s a pastry, I’m sure you know what they are, my fifth grade teacher gave us the recipe, and I knew how to make them when I was 10.)

    Tropical is a good word to qualify the weather these days, I’m sure that Washington must feel like a swamp.

