Footprints on the sands of time

july20_sand.jpg

The beach may not be a geographical part of the Washington metropolitan area, but it is certainly part of the culture. Each summer, groups of twentysomethings and thirtysomethings rent beach houses for the season, and on Fridays, they leave work as early as they decently can and join the stream of slow-moving traffic headed for the Delaware beaches. Sunday nights they do the same thing in reverse. It always seems to me that any relaxation is negated by the stress of driving back to town, which can, I am told, take four or five hours.

I adore the ocean, but I prefer to see beaches devoid of people. I’d rather go between October and May, even if walking on the beach means wearing several layers of clothes and having the wind bring tears to my eyes. Seeing snow falling on the ocean is on my list of things to do before I die.

Lives of great men all remind us
We can make our lives sublime,
And, departing leave behind us
Footprints on the sands of time.

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

7 Responses to Footprints on the sands of time

  1. alice says:

    So, I can understand you would want to come to Les Glénan (not in july or august! Too many tourists!)…And for several winters, we have some snow on our little beaches in Le Golfe du Morbihan.
    I do like this picture. So simple and in the same time , so filled of poetry. Have a nice day, Passante.

  2. Marie McC says:

    I don’t know which is better, the photo or the post! Bon travail, mon amie.

  3. Elisabeth says:

    Having lived in Delaware for some 15 years, and having vacationed several times in Dewey Beach, which is adjacent to Rehoboth, I miss the beach immensely. I am determined to spend some time at the beach next summer (or more likely, in late May or early June – when it’s not quite as crowded.)

    This shot, by the way, is absolutely lovely.

  4. Carlos says:

    I have enjoyed your post. First the nice and curious picture which seems to be a map on the sand, with an footprint as an island, second, the information about people going to Delaware to swim, it seems that in every country people do crazy things and third your Longfellow excerpt and the words about empty beaches, I definitely agree with you.

  5. Dan says:

    Ah, is there anything more amazing than a beach in the late fall? The solitude, cold wind, the sounds & smells, the many layers of clothes… definitely one of the most romantic (in the old sense of the word) things around.

    Thanks taking me there, at least in my mind!

  6. Kip says:

    This post has been removed by the author.

  7. Kip says:

    I’m in a spacecraft. I’ve broken through the cloud barrier. Now I’m looking down on a whole new world, a world fresh and untouched–until my ship broke through the sky. Soon I will land with noise and heat and set my foot upon the ground.

