K3, P3, K2tog

aug15_charlottesville.jpg

Still on our side trip out of the Washington, D.C. area, we’re in Charlottesville, Va., the home of Thomas Jefferson. These fancy yarns hanging outside a knitting store are just a taste of what’s inside. I’m not a knitter, but I spent a long time in the shop admiring the seemingly endless array of unusual and beautiful yarns.

2 Responses to K3, P3, K2tog

  1. MarieMcC says:

    I don’t knit, but I do crochet. In addition to the color, a good part of the attraction is the texture. I always touch the yarns I’m considering buying. If I’m going to spend a lot of time making something, I want to know how the yarn is going to feel sliding through my fingers.

    I once took a friend with me to a yarn shop to choose the yarn she wanted for a sweater I was going to make her. She wanted black but there were two black yarns, and she didn’t know which one to choose. I had her close her eyes and stretch out her hands. I put one ball of each yarn in each of her hands, and she was able to make her choice immediately.

  2. passante says:

    The whole experience stunned me: the colors, the textures, the different materials, the breathtakingly beautiful, the really funky—and above all, the prices. My cousin, visiting from London, bought some very special yard at $25 per skein and said it would be easily double the price in England.

