Wings of Fancy

sept06_butterfly.jpg

Wings of Fancy” is the live butterfly exhibit currently showing at Brookside Gardens in Wheaton, Md. It’s quite an experience to be in the midst of so many beautiful butterflies from Central and South America as well as the more familiar native Maryland species as they flutter freely around you.

4 Responses to Wings of Fancy

  1. Elisabeth says:

    I absolutely love butterflies, and would give anything to be able to take a picture like this one!

  2. passante says:

    I love butterflies too, hence my avatar. Thank you for the compliment. I didn’t have a long enough lens and I hadn’t taken my tripod. The better-equipped photographers must have been getting wonderful shots. The butterfly I tried for a number of times and didn’t manage to capture had beautiful wings that looked like intricate brown lace, and when it opened them, the upper side was irridescent sky blue. But they were among the most active and didn’t spread their wings when they landed on anything—unlike this more cooperative model.

  3. Kate says:

    Cooperation nets results, and you got a good shot. I’d love to go to Mexico when they’re migrating. Must be quite a sight to behol!!

  4. mariemcc says:

    I love shots of insects, especial super macro shots. Even though you didn’t have a long lense or a tripod, you still came away with a nice shot.

