Mystery: Part I

sept07_gunston-trees.jpg

I was going through old negatives and contact sheets today and found this. I find the scene rather moody and mysterious, and it’s made even more so by the fact that I can’t remember where it is. I think it’s the grounds of Gunston Hall, the home of George Mason, but I’m not completely sure. (I wish I’d kept better records.)

Maybe tomorrow’s post, a shot taken at the same location, will provide a clue, and one of my readers will be able to enlighten me.

9 Responses to Mystery: Part I

  1. dutchie says:

    You’re right it is moody. Almost creepy.
    Like it very much though!

  2. Elisabeth says:

    It does have a surrealist tinge too, I think.

  3. Anne says:

    Very beautiful black and white Passante! I love it! Feels like the garden of eden or something 🙂

  4. mariemcc says:

    There is something mysterious about this, but I can’t put my finger on it. Must be something about the tree branches. Interesting shot.

  5. Passante says:

    Part of the mystery is I think that it looks a little as if it were shot on infrared film, which is able to record parts of the spectrum invisible to the eye. In fact it wasn’t—this is regular black and white film.

  6. Dan Ward says:

    Wow, what a shot! Are you sure you didn’t accidentally stumble across Hogwarts or Fangorn? I’d love to see that image as part of the cover of a book…

  7. Helen says:

    It’s kinda spooky! Nice photo!

  8. Nathalie says:

    Very mysterious and charming indeed!

  9. Joy In Life says:

    I enjoy your evocative black and white “mystery” pieces. Is your work available for purchase?

