Art in Alexandria

sept10_alex-art-fair.jpg

For the past four years, the City of Alexandria in Virginia closes the length of the main street to traffic and turns it over to artists, photographers, potters, jewelers, printmakers, and other artists and craftspeople. This year, the juried art fair takes place all day September 9 and 10 and features more than 200 artists from around the country, whose work has been selected for display and sale. Marie McC of Alexandria Daily Photo and I went yesterday.

See some more pictures here.

4 Responses to Art in Alexandria

  1. Pierre says:

    Hi Passante,
    That’s one of the multiple things that I love in the USA : any week, in any State, always, everywhere, you can find a cultural manifestation, a concert, a traditional feast, a country fair, a cooking contest, a green market, an antique show, a fall festival, a popular gathering, you name it… In big cities as well as in the most remote country side…
    You say, Passante, that your body is in Washington DC and your mind in Italy… For me that’s the opposite (or in fact the same thing) : my body is in the old Europe, but my mind is in America… night and day !

  2. Kate says:

    Well, we travellers favor all kinds of places. Give me a ticket to anywhere,and I’ll go. I agree sith Pierre, tho, that there are multiple activities just about everywhere!

  3. Kate says:

    Good morning! Just sent you a message on my “Honoring the Italians.”

  4. Anne says:

    Looks like fun! Did you buy anything?

