Justice for immigrants

sept25_delray-mural_01.jpg

On Sept. 7 and Sept. 8, Marie McC posted photographs of a mural in progress in the Chirilagua (a.k.a. Arlandria) neighborhood in Alexandria. It’s a neighborhood where many immigrants, particularly Hispanic immigrants, live; the mural is rich with symbolism. This detail shows a sheriff holding his hand up to stop a woman (who can’t be seen in this picture) at the border. The baby wearing a diaper/nappy behind him is George Washington, with his nurse, an African American slave. The angry-looking man at the upper right is a judge, pointing the would-be immigrants back to the countries they came from. The sign round his neck refers to House Resolution 4437 “To amend the Immigration and Nationality Act to strengthen enforcement of the immigration laws, to enhance border security, and for other purposes,” introduced in December 2005. You’ll find two more detail photos of the mural here.

5 Responses to Justice for immigrants

  1. Elisabeth says:

    Very powerful mural, thanks for having posted those photos and your commentary to accompany them.

  2. Kate says:

    yes, the information is wonderful to accompany these photos. I think that the mural is GREAT. Despite all the Hispanic immigrants in the Twin Cities, I have yet to find one with such powerful images. Your photos and Marie’s are a pleasure to behold on this particular subject. Thanks for compiling the information.

  3. Bridwalker says:

    I like the use of the yellow downspout as the border. I was raised very waspish in Toronto when it was a VERY whitebread city. It’s now a cultural mosaic and it has never looked or felt better. Xenophobia accomplishes nothing except for creating an atmosphere of intolerance and hatred.

  4. mariemcc says:

    This mural continues to fascinate me. I’m glad I took as many shots of it as I did, but I may have to go back and do some more. Passante you did a great job with your focus on some of the most interesting areas and the interpretations.

  5. Passante says:

    Thank you all for commenting.

    This mural touched me deeply. I am an immigrant too, and the mural brought home to me something I’d not ever stopped to reflect on: that I am such a privileged immigrant compared with those who came across the border with nothing and did the menial jobs no one else wanted. Unlike those people, I came to a place in graduate school, a teaching assistantship to help pay my way, and a secure future (as far as any future can be secure) based on my education. I would like to study the mural more—so whenever you want to go back, Marie.

